Bec Woods - ASP World Tour Surfer

Where did you grow up?
I grew up at Copacabana on the NSW Central Coast

When did you get your first surfboard?
My own one I bought from delivering Junk mail when i was about 13 I think.

What do you love about surfing?
The freedom, the escape and the feeling you get from being on the wave. It is one of those things that connects me with the exact moment I am in.

What is your most memorable session?
I think that would be out at Macaronis one night in Indo. There was only our boat and one other with about 6 guys and 6 girls. Everyone was taking turns and calling each other into the barrel. No snaking no bad vibes just the reason you surf and thats just for the stoke.

What is your go to board?
5'7 by 18 by 2 and 1/8 (but this is slowly getting wider and thicker).

Who has inspired you?
Over the years I have drawn inspiration from a lot of sources. My family and having a sister with a disability, and as I have moved further into my career motivation needs to come from a variety of sources and as I have learnt and grown Mahatma Ghandi, Nelson Mandela, Cathy Freeman, Layne Beachley, Barton Lynch just anyone who tries to better themselves and the world around them.

What sort of education have you had?
My mums a school teacher and I tried to leave in year 10 but there was no way that was happening! I finished High School and got a Uni Entry mark and have done a few units of Business but I would like to move into the Health field when the tour finishes.

What was your very first job?
Junk mail delivering.
Besides being an ASP World Tour Surfer, what is other work are you involved in?
Surf Coaching as an Ambassador for the Play it Safe by the Water program in Victoria, a surf coach/guide with The Perfect Wave surf travel company and I Lifeguard when I am home. 

How did you get into the position you are today?
Perseverance and lots of hard work. As a surfer it is a difficult way to make a living but as a female surfer it can be even harder. It is a job and it is full time but you love it so you don't seem to notice.
What do you like most about your job?
The challenge, the ever changing environment in and out of the water and the diversity of what life can throw at you sometimes.

Where do you see yourself in 10 years?
Nearly 40 ! ha who knows hopefully set up working with athlete development and perhaps Osteopathy, living near some good waves and enjoying the sunshine.

Where can we find you online? 


Posted by: Matthew Ryan, on September 9, 2013
Categories: Interviews